top of page

Form: Essential elements

I did this exercise in two series on three different days

Series 1, in the second week of my life-drawing class -

The first was of a reclining figure, done in blue ballpoint pen on A2 cartridge paper, and I found it very difficult to get the proportions and tonal values right - her head is too small and her upper body and leg too long - not successful at all.

For the second the model sat in an armchair and I worked in pencil on A2 cartridge paper, and his time her upper body is more in proportion with her head, but I didn’t get the foreshortening of the leg right.

For the third the model sat with her back to me and her legs crossed, I worked in pastel on A2 cartridge paper, and I think the proportions are accurate and I captured the sense of the pose successfully.

Series 2 was done from Jonathan Yeo’s RA Life Drawing Live of 25 January which I enjoyed very much – as even though I couldn’t see as much as when I had a live model in front of me, it was a more relaxing experience looking at the TV and drawing in my own home. I had expected it to be like drawing from a picture but it was much better than that as I could see the live model moving and breathing on the screen.

The first took 15 minutes and I used fine-tipped pen on A3 cartridge paper with crosshatching technique, and I think the proportions are accurate and I achieved a three-dimensional effect.

The second took 10 minutes and I used soft pastel pencil on A2 cartridge paper.

The third was in willow charcoal on A3 cartridge paper, and though I think I managed to get the atmosphere of the place and the legs are believable, the proportions are not quite right - the body is too long.

I think of the three the first drawing in this series gives the best sense of the pose - the shading is more accurate and gives a more three-dimensional form.


bottom of page