top of page

Form: Basic Shapes

For this exercise I did several sketches in my life drawing class, using A3 cartridge paper as my support.

For the first the model was sitting on a tall chair for 20 minutes, and I used blue ballpoint and crosshatching technique but found it difficult to get the proportions right – I didn’t get the foreshortening of the legs right and they appear too small for the body.

For the second the model sat on a stool for 20 minutes and I again used blue ballpoint and crosshatching technique, but this time I drew the negative space between his arm and his body, and between his legs, and this time the proportion are more accurate.

For the third the model sat on a stool for 25 minutes and I used a charcoal and tone technique, and I think the proportions are accurate this time and the drawing has more sense of three-dimensionality.

For the fourth the model sat in a chair for 30 minutes, wearing a cap, glasses and a jacket, and I used blue Indian ink applied with a bamboo stick. I included the empty chair next to him and the clock on the wall, and it almost looks as if he is the guard on a station platform waiting for the train to arrive. I really like the sketch as I think the proportions are quite accurate and I think it’s telling a story.

For the fifth the model sat in an armchair for 10 minutes, wearing a tall woolly hat and a winter jacket, and with a dog box beside him, and I experimented with blue Indian ink applied with a long hairy twig. I found it difficult to get many details but think this is a quite an expressive drawing, and I really enjoyed doing it.


bottom of page