top of page

Research into Positive and Negative Space

Gary Hume (British, 1962) RA

Gary Hume’s work on negative space has opened my eyes to what can be done with negative space technique; the superb execution, bright colours, and simplicity, as if he wants the viewer to fill up the gaps.

HIs two roses is a skilfully executed composition, but above all what my eyes focus on are the leaves depicted in negative space which make the work especially interesting. I know I these are only blocked shapes, but my brain tells me that they are leaves.

Gary Hume, Two Roses

In the Daffodils, the same thing, a wonderful executed piece of work. The two heads have very little detail, and it is the negative space technique he uses for the headbands which makes me focus on the faces. The combination of colours he uses is also very effective.

Gary Hume, The Daffodils

Maurits Cornelis Escher (Netherland, 1898-1972)

Drawing Hands, is an incredibly skillful and very engaging composition using negative space technique to depict the sleeves being drawn by the hands. The negative space of the sleeves emphasises the level of detail in the hands. This piece of work is right up my street – I love it.

Cristina Troufa (Portugal, 1974)

Cristina’s self-portraits are incredibly powerful and accomplished. She uses negative space mainly on the parts of her body covered by clothing, which emphasises the perspective and the detail on the uncovered parts her body, making me think about the narrative of each painting, what is she thinking? and what is she feeling?. I also like very much the style in which she uses the light to attract attention to her body and what she is doing remind me of Sorolla’s paintings.


bottom of page