top of page

At home: Quick sketches around the house

The exercise was to do four quick sketches of each room working around my house, which was very interesting for me, as I had never done a drawing of a room before.

The first question in my mind was to define ‘quick’, and I tried a variety of time slots from ten minutes up to an hour and a half. I used a couple of sketchbooks as I always had one of them near me when I wanted to work.

I did the first two sketches in pencil, then I remembered that my former tutor had suggested I use pen to promote speed and confidence in drawing, given that it was not possible to rub out and correct mistakes.

Which drawings are stronger and why?

The strongest one is the bookcase on the mezzanine, which I think is strongest because it has the most complicated collection of objects; the books, the chair, the rail, the side table.

Which drawings did you enjoy most?

Again, the bookcase on the mezzanine, because it was more challenging in terms of shape and perspective - which makes it more difficult. It’s also a very colourful and relaxing place, with the books and frames tucked behind the chair.

Which area in which room you would like to study further?

I decided to study the living room further because it has interesting shapes and objects; the vase, the plant pots the curtains, the windows, the chairs etc. and it has good daylight coming in from different angles, giving a variety of shadows.


bottom of page