top of page

At home: Material Differences

My tutor mentioned that this piece was looking flat so I went back to it to accentuate the light and the shadows. As the support was grey pastel paper it was difficult to get the light tones but for the highlight I used white pastel and for the darkest tones charcoal and black pastel. I used a chart to see clearly my mid tones and I believe it has improved the sense of depth considerably.

Updated 08.04.2018

Original

For this exercise I based my drawing on sketch number 3 of the previous exercise (please see learning log online), because it has interesting and challenging shapes, some foreshortening of the lower part of the chair, some negative spaces in the flowers in the vase, and strong lights and shadows. I also cropped the image to make a more interesting composition.

I began by sitting on the floor about a meter from the chair, facing the corner, and chose grey paper for my support, and charcoal pencil and willow charcoal for my medium. To bring something different to my drawing I did not try to soften the marks as I normally do.

Things that went well -

I am happy with the chair, the flower vase, the plant pot and the little table, and I also like the shadow underneath the curtain and the light coming from behind the chair. I really enjoyed making marks with the willow charcoal, a medium that I have used very little in the past

Things that went badly -

The perspective on the ventilation grille is not accurate; some of the transition on the shading needs improving, and I did not get the texture of the soft toy dog.

On reflection I think I would have liked the drawing more if I had softened the marks after all.


bottom of page