top of page

At Home: Composition - an Interior

I chose the living room from an angle which shows many of the objects in the room, a corner which gives me feeling of relaxation. The objects and features shown are -

A chair in the centre backing the source of light.

Folding glass doors and window, leading to the garden and main source of light.

A rectangular cushion on the chair.

A pot with spiky plant, which has interesting shapes and tonal values.

A soft toy dog on top of the chair.

Curtains, with strong tonal contrasts in the folds.

A vase with flowers and leaves which have interesting negative space.

Having done one sketch of the corner, which I found satisfying, I did a further three, changing my position and my seating height to give interesting perspectives, and experimented with the format by cropping the objects using a viewfinder, which I find very useful.


bottom of page