top of page

Basic shapes and fundamental forms - Shadows and reflected light

For this exercise I chose the silver coloured petanque ball and a porcelain flower vase, and placed a lamp on the right side, slightly behind the objects, which were below my horizon line.

Things that went well:

I enjoyed this drawing because I felt very confortable drawing curved lines, and though it was difficult to get the symmetry of these objects, the size and proportions are accurate. I think my observation skills are improving as I clearly observed the reflection of the ball on the vase and vice versa, which I would not have done previously.

Things that went badly:

I think the worst things are that the neck of the vase is not entirely symmetrical, and the shadows on the wall behind the vase need more work.

Updated 14.04.2018


bottom of page