top of page

Basic shape and fundamental form - Observing shadow using block of tones

I chose an octagonal gift box and a wooden ladle with a long handle because I thought they would make interesting shadows. I placed a board behind the objects to block out distractions, and a lamp behind and to the left of the objects.

Due to the long handle my drawing looked small on the paper, but with the board included this filled out the paper.

Things that went well:

I am happy with the end result of my drawing; the size and proportions are quite accurate and the depiction of the board at the back adds interest and fills the space on the paper, giving the objects a sense of dimension. I am also happy that the shadows look believable.

Things that went badly:

I am not entirely sure if I like the composition, and if I started again I would crop the objects and shadows so I could fill up the paper and draw in more of the lights and shadows details.


bottom of page