top of page

Temporary drawing

Temporary Drawing

I started the exercise by trying to think of an unusual medium with which to draw when my eye fell on the hose in my garden – and the hose became the medium for my temporary drawing.

This reminded me of an exercise in continuous line drawing, though because of the length and limited flexibility of the hose I was not able to draw without stopping, and needed to keep rearranging the hose.

And as it was difficult to get sharp corners with the hose I decided to draw something curved - a jug.

Drawing with the hose in the sunshine reminded me of my childhood in Peru, playing by the sea with my brothers making the most beautiful sand castles we could build, and even though the castles would be knocked down by the tide in the afternoon the enjoyment of doing so made it all worthwhile.

Most of my drawings and paintings are little bigger than A3, so being able to draw on a grand scale made the exercise very enjoyable. However it presented a challenge with proportions and symmetry.

Having completed the drawing I am satisfied that I have captured the general shape of a jug, but am not sure that there is any added emotional dimension other than a playful drawing.

To see the video click here


bottom of page