top of page

Object Reconfigure

For this project I did a number of experiments which I can group into two concepts


1. Ephemeral abstract installations inspired by El Lissitzky’s The Proun, which concept I found very interesting.





El Lissitzky was an artist belonging to the Constructivism movement which had its roots in Kazimir Malevich’s Suprematism – an art movement focused on basic geometric forms, born after the Russian Revolution of 1917 and the destruction of social classes. This made artists question themselves and their role in society, and the artists rejected artistic creation based on commissions by individuals in favour of manufactured objects with social meaning - an attempt to effect a transformation of society.


I used pieces of wood and recycled packaging materials which I tried to make look like pieces of machinery.







2. My second experiment was inspired by the work of El Anatsui which I loved.





El Anatsui makes large installations or assemblages using crushed metal seals from liquor bottles, sewn together with copper wire, and there’s an element of violence in them reflecting his concern for the effect consumerism has on the environment. I like the materials and elegance of his work, and in the same way I like the materials and colours of Nespresso coffee pods, so I had the idea of using the used Nespresso coffee capsules that I had been collecting during the lockdown. I like also the idea that the assignment has the potential to be extended – by using more and more old coffee pods.






bottom of page