top of page

Image Rupture - Digital

At the beginning I made several attempts using different results of the analogues experiment, just to learn how to make a gif. I used PowerPoint to make the frames and Procreate to make the Gif.


Digital Gif 1 - as my tutor suggested, I used the work below as a base




I used the original digital photo as a background, but instead of cutting gold patterns I used a gold ball shape I found on the internet. I made several attempts using several numbers of frames until I got the soft effect I wanted, and for the final result I used 12 frames in total.




Digital Gif 2 - For this piece I used the HIV virus photograph, and only used 2 frames -


I also created a gif which documented the process of the stitching intervention -


Reflection on the Crit -


I was very pleased with the Feedback comments and the results, as this was my first time creating moving images, and I was especially pleased with virus picture which I think is effective as it feels that the virus is alive.


It was suggested that I project the images onto objects and bigger surfaces, which I will try.


In the case of the gold ball, it was suggested that I should make more dramatic rise and fall, though I like the soft movement of the ball as it is – this was the pretty much effect I was trying to achieve.



bottom of page