top of page

Preparing Texture Ground

For this exercise I did a series of experiments using different mediums:

Using PVA, changing colours and the ratio of water to paint, to create marks using sticks, though it was difficult to control, and they became rather abstract like controlled liquid art

Using decorators glue which is thicker than PVA and has a cloudy effect

A mixture of the two, though decorators glue was lighter and sat on top of the PVA

3D Expanding Medium which I had in the cupboard, on a piece of fabric which after heating created 3D texture.

I really enjoyed these experiments, and having been inspired by a work by Alex Echo - Wave 5 which I saw at the Castle Fine Art Gallery in London -

Reference: https://www.castlefineart.com/brochures/alex-echo-the-shape-of-things

I decided to try my own version on a 30 x 24 cm canvas using a mixture PVA and Pebeo Acrylic which then I applied at different stages dragging the paint with barbecue sticks to make the patterns.


bottom of page