top of page

Different ways of applying paint

During the course of this module I’ve been already experimenting with different ways of applying paint, as in Part 4 Creating a mood and atmosphere, where I used modelling paste – impasto and matt medium, applied with brush, natural sponge and sticks, which I found to be interesting way of creating texture and three-dimensional marks

In Part 4, working from photographs, I

experimented by applying ink and acrylic with rollers, credit cards etc

In Part 4, Hard and soft landscapes, I experimented with Van Gogh’s long curved and broken brush strokes and found the technique useful to achieve the texture of tree bark. I think this was a fair attempt though my paint was too thin and my colour pallet more muted

Please see Part 4 for details of all these.

I also did an exercise with impasto applied with a palette knife to create texture based on a picture I took a while ago which I thought that it will be suitable for the exercise.

Although it was fun experimenting with different ways of applying paint, the traditional and soft texture methods remain my favourite.


bottom of page