top of page

National Gallery - Sorolla - Spanish Master of Light

I went to the National Gallery to see the Sorolla (1863 -1923) Exhibition. Having visited his house in Madrid some years ago I already knew some of the paintings in the exhibition, but I have to say I appreciated them more at the National Gallery without the distraction of the house and furniture. I am very drawn to Sorolla’s paintings, possibly because as a Latin-American his social scenes of Spanish culture are very familiar to me. I absolutely love his use of colour - the whites and lights on fabric, on the edges of objects, and on water are truly spectacular, a fine example being his Nude, 1920.

My favourite painting of all was the fabulous Sewing the Sail, (1896) oil, 2,2m x 3m

The triangular composition, the colours, the relaxed faces of the people enjoying working on the sail, all make for a very happy, cheerful painting

Reference

https://www.nationalgallery.co.uk/products/sorolla-spanish-master-of-light-catalogue/p_1047821


bottom of page