top of page

Linear figure study

For this exercise the model did a 30-minute pose and I drew in neat Prussian blue WMO with a No 4 round brush

I was trying to get the foreshortening and proportions right and a sense of depth in the creases of the robe, and do like the accuracy of the head, upper body, arms and the robe. The foreshortening of the legs is not right however, the knees need to be much bigger to get the illusion of the position sitting on the stool.

2 Linear Figure

My second attempt was inspired by a Jonathan Yeo painting of a nude and was a 30-minute pose exploring also composition.

I used 50 x 40 cm oil paper and WMO diluted with water and Payne’s Grey for the lines so as not to get too involved in the detail.

The final result looks cartoonish and the face looks shrunken, though the proportion are not far off. I wish I had had more time to improve it, but unfortunately I used the wrong side of the oil paper, so it was very hard to spread the paint.


bottom of page